Disability Inclusion Access Awards

Three trophy cups representing Gold, Silver and BronzeThe Association of Consultants for Access in Australia (ACAA) in partnership with the NSW Department of Family and Community Services (FaCS) is proud to announce the inaugural Disability Inclusion Access Awards. The aim is to recognize achievements in enabling people with disabilities to fully participate in community life through the creation of an accessible built environment. Entries close 21 June 2017. You can download a PDF of the information. Some of the information is shown below. General enquiries to email: secretary-nsw@access.asn.au

Award Categories & Prizes
These Awards provide three categories with the prizes being awarded to a team that includes an Architect/Designer, ACAA Access Consultant and Builder. The three categories of development include: 
1. Residential development.
2. Public domain urban outdoor space.
3. Non residential development. 

Prize money 
There are three prizes of $3,000 for each of the three categories for total prize money of $9,000. The $3,000 prizes will be awarded to each team which are to be shared equally.

In addition to the major prize winners ACAAshall award the; 
4. Associate Members Prize in recognition of their work on an Access Audit, Access Study that involved research of various forms, Action Plan or Policy development in the field of enabling inclusive access for people with disabilities, which could be employment, education, accommodation or have a community access related focus. 

Eligibility Criteria 
Eligible projects shall be projects located in NSW and completed during the calendar years between January 2012 and March 2017.

All eligible projects must include an ACAAAccredited or Associate Member within the team and demonstrate their involvement in the project. The ACAA Consultant member may reside outside the state of NSW. All ACAAentrants shall confirm they are financial paid up members of ACAA

More information about the NSW Disability Inclusion Act and strategies can be found on the FaCS website